What’s with the STRAPLESS wedding dress?

21 Oct

I’m sorry ladies, but this has been weighing on my mind after seeing countless wedding dresses of Facebook.  I am at the age where I either see weddings or babies on my news feed.  My biggest question to you is: What is with EVERY bride choosing a strapless dress?! I’m BORED.

I am literally most excited to see what dress the bride has chosen to wear and I’m constantly saying “another strapless.”  Is it that no cute wedding dresses exist outside the strapless (this could be a money-maker for you designers) or is it that every bride gets into “safe zone” and loses her whole sense of style?

Even my boyfriend is now noticing that EVERY girl chooses a strapless dress AND let me tell you, he does NOT notice these things.  Now, I am very virgin when it comes to wedding dresses.  I admit, I have never tried one on nor stepped foot in one of “those” stores.  I’m anxious to hear the reasoning behind choosing the good ol’ faithful.

What intrigues me is that most fashion icons of our history have NOT chosen a strapless dress for their big day.  What influences today’s girl to choose the strapless silhouette over the countless variety of styles available to us today?

Below are pictures of major fashion icons and their wedding dresses:

Princess Diana

Elizabeth Taylor

Audrey Hepburn

Grace Kelly

Jackie O

Carolyn Bessett

Gwen Stefani

Nicole Richie

Kate Moss

Kate Middleton

So, I’d love to hear comments or whatever your reasoning you had behind choosing your dress.

xo Miss Smalls

One Response to “What’s with the STRAPLESS wedding dress?”

  1. Jena October 21, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    I went to the stores and tried on sooooo many dresses. I hated every dress. Then in a magazine I saw “the dress”. I called all over the united states and no one had it…so if I ordered it I would be stuck with it and it was expensive. Well I was worried because it was strapless…it was a heartshape top and I didn’t want to
    Be pulling it up at all. My seamstress informed me that with the corset back and a little altering I would be secure. Sooo I ordered it and when it came in it was the most amazing dress. I am sooo happy with my dress. One reason I went strapless was getting married in July I didnt want to be sweating…what could be worse than pit stains on your wedding day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

