Coconut Oil-Full of Fabulous Health Benefits

26 Jul

I’ve been doing my research for the last month about the health benefits of coconut oil.  I’m super diligent about taking care of my skin.  I visit my dermatologist yearly and I’m constantly researching oils, vitamins etc that benefit the skin.  My latest purchase is pure coconut oil that I got from Whole Foods.  I’m so excited to reap the benefits of this amazing oil that I had to share the information with you!  So, not only can you cook with this oil, you can do what I’m doing and use it topically for skin and hair.  (I actually saved about half of the oil into a separate container so that I can use it for cooking as well.)

Benefits of coconut oil:

  • hair care
  • skin care
  • stress relief
  • maintaining cholesterol levels
  • weight loss
  • increased immunity
  • proper digestion
Hair care benefits-Apparently coconut oil is one of the best nutritional oils for the hair.  It helps with growth and shine.  On the container it states to “apply for an hour or two before shampooing.”  The coconut oil helps provide essential nutrients and proteins for damaged hair and when applied to the scalp can help with dandruff.
The reason I wanted to try coconut oil was mainly for skin care.  My skin gets especially dry in the harsh NYC winters and I’ve been on a hunt to find the best natural solutions.  So far my top picks are baby oil and Waleda-Arnica oil.  However, I wanted to replace the baby oil with the coconut oil because of the anti-aging benefits it claims to have.
Skin care benefits- According to Organic Facts, coconut oil prevents destructive skin formation.  It helps the connective tissues stay strong and supple to provide against wrinkling and sagging of the skin.  It not only moisturizes your skin but helps in the restoration and repair of your skin.  It helps slough off the  top layer of dead skin revealing soft, new, smoother skin while penetrating the deeper layers and strengthening the underlying layers.
How could you NOT want to try this?  There is so much information out there but I particularly liked this site: Organic Facts.
If you too are searching for an all natural skin moisturizer/anti-ager this may be something to try.  For $10 a jar, I think it’s worth it.
4 Responses to “Coconut Oil-Full of Fabulous Health Benefits”

  1. Jena Kubiak July 26, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    Seriously I love reading your blog! I will be picking up coconut oil for sure! oooh and after you posted about bottle water, me and my husband watched the documentary, got rid of our bottles, bottle reusable bottles and a brita…so thanks:) Keep blogging so I can keep learning.
    xoxo-Jena

    • misssmalls July 26, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

      Jena, thank you!!

      This is one of the NICEST comments! I’m so happy you are benefitting from Miss Smalls! If I can help even ONE person it makes me super happy.

      Thank you again for the positivity, this gives me major encouragement to keep blogging!

      xoxo

  2. Gemma Mendoza June 2, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

    I dont have a whole foods where else can i find this?

    • misssmalls June 3, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

      Most health food stores will have this and actually a lot of regular grocery stores are starting to stock it. You can also order it online on sites like Amazon.com etc. It’s so good for your skin, I work with a lot of models and they all use it! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

